Skip to content

Basic information

  • Target audience: 
  • Application period: 4.12. - 31.12.2019
  • Date: 31.1. - 28.4.2020
  • Scope: 10 cr
  • Location: Otaniemi
  • Price: 150 €

Study unit's learning outcomes

The student is able to

  • describe how value is createdfor the customers through service
  • recognize the essence of Service Design thinking and methods
  • plan, implement and evaluate a Service Design projectusing service design methods
  • apply creative problem-solving and develop working methods individually and in teams
  • foster entrepreneurship through service design

Learning material

Stickdorn, M., Lawrence, A. and Hormess, M., Schneider, J. 2018.This is service design doing : applying service design thinking in the real world : a practitioner's handbook.Canada: O'Reilly. Ebook. 

Content

Key concepts

  • Service design / design thinking
  • Service design process and tools
  • Value proposition
  • Prototyping & testing
  • Business Model Canvas
  • Service Concept

Assignments

  • Pre-assignment (Theory & Literature)
  • Customer project
  • Development of service concept / team work
  • Evaluated using scale (5-1)
  • Service Design Portfolio created during the process
  • The finished service design portfolio is given to the customer project provider

Evaluation

Grading is given 0 - 5.

Schedule

Active participation in lectures and workshops is required due to the service desing methods and tools used.

Fri 31.01.2020 09.00–15.00 Otaniemi (room 324)
Tue 04.02.2020 09.00–15.00 Otaniemi (room 122.2)
Thu 13.02.2020 09.00–15.00 Otaniemi (room 122.2)
Tue 18.02.2020 09.00–15.00 Otaniemi (room 256)
Tue 25.02.2020 09.00–15.00 Otaniemi (room 256)
Tue 03.03.2020 09.00–15.00 Otaniemi (room 212)
Thu 19.03.2020 09.00–15.00 Otaniemi (room 212)
Tue 24.03.2020 09.00–15.00 Otaniemi (room 256)
Tue 31.03.2020 09.00–15.00 Otaniemi (room 256)
Tue 07.04.2020 09.00–15.00 Otaniemi (room 212)
Fri 17.04.2020 09.00–15.00 Otaniemi (room 324)
Tue 21.04.2020 09.00–15.00 Otaniemi (room 212)
Tue 28.04.2020 09.00–15.00 Otaniemi (room 256)

There are 5 seats for open UAS students.

More information: